Very Funny:Missing World Cup could cost me Ballon d’Or – Ibrahimovic

The PSG and Sweden star believes 2013-14 was the best season of his career but accepts not being in Brazil this summer could count against him

Missing World Cup could cost me Ballon d'Or - Ibrahimovic

Zlatan Ibrahimovic believes missing out on the World Cup this summer could cost him his chance to win the Ballon d’Or.

The Paris Saint-Germain star was named on the 23-man shortlist for Fifa’s most prestigious individual prize earlier this week, along with typical candidates Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo and six members of Germany’s World Cup-winning side.

Ibrahimovic scored 41 goals in 46 appearances in all competitions last season as PSG lifted both the Ligue 1 title and the Coupe de la Ligue but, although he feels 2013-14 was arguably his strongest ever campaign, the Sweden international accepts it may not be enough.

“I think I have just played the best season of my career,” Ibrahimovic told PSG TV. “That’s one of my objectives: to be better each year and always improve.

“I’ve been nominated, but it will be difficult because I didn’t play in the World Cup. A lot of fantastic players shone at the World Cup, so they’ll have a certain advantage but, as long as I do what I can do, that I achieve results and I play at a high level, I can aim to win this award.

“That’s what I try to do anyway day after day, by working again and again.”

Ibrahimovic, who has been sidelined since late September with a heel problem, could return to action against Lorient this weekend.

Leave a Reply

