Fantastic Fergie told me I’m the best – Ronaldo

The Real Madrid superstar won the Ballon d’Or for the third time and says he misses his former manager and the club’s fans, though he is also keen to win more trophies in Spain

Fantastic Fergie told me I'm the best - Ronaldo

Fifa Ballon d’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo revealed that “fantastic” former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson reminds him regularly that he’s the best in the world.

The Real Madrid forward was speaking after picking up his third Ballon d’Or award on Monday night and says he looks back on his time at Old Trafford fondly.

Ronaldo, who spent six years with the Red Devils, told reporters: “I think about Manchester United. The beginning of my career was there, that’s where I started. I know the fans are there supporting me.

“I haven’t had a message from Sir Alex yet but I speak with him often. He told me to keep improving all the time. He said: ‘Cristiano, you’re the best, don’t worry about the rest’.

“He’s fantastic, I miss him.”

Ronaldo left Old Trafford at the age of 24 to move to Madrid, the club he supported as a boy, and has scored 285 goals in 274 games for the Blancos.

And although he is constantly linked by English media with a return to United, he went on to state his determination to add to the trophies he has already won in the Spanish capital, particularly after extending his stay at the European champions until 2018.

“I signed a new contract for many years so I am motivated to win more things for the club,” he added

Leave a Reply

